• menu_st1 menu_st2
March 05, 2019

Shared Drafts: Write Emails Together With Your Team

Sometimes you need help from your colleagues with writing an email. You may want your teammates to proofread your email before sending or to add some missing information. Of course, you can write your email in Google Docs and invite other people to edit it, but this requires unnecessary extra steps.

With Spark for Teams, you can create a shared draft to write an email together in real time and discuss it privately in the comments.

Why use shared drafts:


  • Proofread and review important emails before sending
  • Allow your assistant to draft and send emails on your behalf
  • Train new team members to write emails to clients

Note: The people you share the email with have to use Spark and be members of your team. Otherwise, they will receive an invitation to join your team and will need to download Spark if they don’t have it.


Learn how to create a team in Spark

Create a shared draft

  1. Launch Spark and tap  at the top.
  2. Tap  at the top right.
  3. If you have multiple teams, you can switch them by clicking on the arrows at the top right.
  4. Choose the members of your team you want to share the draft with.
  5. Tick Allow others to send this draft to enable your teammates to send this email either on your behalf or from their own email address.
  6. Click Invite people.

Note: If you want to share a draft with two or more people, you need to upgrade to Premium. Learn more about our plans on our Pricing page.

  1. Launch Spark and tap .
  2. Tap  at the top right.
  3. If you have multiple teams, tap the team name at the top and select the needed one.
  4. Start typing a teammate's name or email address and select a person from the list. You can invite multiple people.
  5. Enable the toggle Allow others to send this draft to enable your teammates to send this email either on your behalf or from their own email address.
  6. Tap Share at the top right.

Note: If you want to share a draft with two or more people, you need to upgrade to Premium. Learn more about our plans on our Pricing page.

  1. Launch Spark and tap .
  2. Tap  at the top right.
  3. If you have multiple teams, tap the team name at the top and select the needed one.
  4. Start typing a teammate's name or email address and select a person from the list. You can invite multiple people.
  5. Enable the toggle Allow others to send this draft to enable your teammates to send this email either on your behalf.
  6. Tap Share at the top right.

Note: If you want to share a draft with two or more people, you need to upgrade to Premium. Learn more about our plans on our Pricing page.


Collaborate on a shared draft

Once you share a draft with other people, you can discuss it in the comments on the right. All collaborators can attach files both to the shared draft and private comments.

To add more people, click  at the top right.

You can always find all your shared drafts in the Shared Drafts folder on the left sidebar. If there is no such folder, click More on the sidebar and select Shared Drafts.

When you open a draft in the Shared Drafts folder, you can’t see the comments. To activate them, click  at the top right.

If you want to view the draft with the comments in a separate window, click  at the draft’s top left.

You can find all your shared drafts in the Shared Drafts folder on the sidebar. If there is no such folder, select Edit list on the sidebar and tap the plus sign near Shared Drafts.

While drafting the email, you can discuss it privately in the comments. Tap  at the bottom right to start a chat.

All collaborators can attach files both to the shared draft and private comments.

To add more people while drafting an email, tap  and then select  at the top right.

If you want to allow your teammate to send this draft either on your behalf or from their own email address, follow these steps:

  1. Open the draft.
  2. Tap  at the bottom right.
  3. Select  at the top right.
  4. Enable the toggle Allow others to send this draft.
  5. Tap Update at the top right.

Now, when you or your teammate are sending this draft, you can choose an email address to send it from. Tap the email address at the top of the email composer and select the needed one.

You can find all your shared drafts in the Shared Drafts folder on the sidebar. If there is no such folder, open Settings > Personalization > Add new and select Shared Drafts.

While drafting the email, you can discuss it privately in the comments. Tap  at the bottom right to start a chat.

To add more people while drafting an email, select  and tap a collaborator’s avatar at the top right. Start typing names or email addresses, select the needed teammates and tap Share.


Remove collaborators and delete a draft

  1. Open a shared draft.
  2. Click on the collaborator’s avatar at the top right.
  3. Click on the cross icon near your teammate’s name.

The person you removed can’t access the previously shared email in the Shared Drafts folder anymore.


Note: If you share the email with only one teammate and then remove this person, your draft disappears from the Shared Drafts folder. You can find it in the Drafts folder on the sidebar instead.


To delete a draft, click  on the top toolbar.

  1. Open a shared draft.
  2. Tap  at the bottom right.
  3. Select  at the top right.
  4. Find the person you want to remove and tap the cross icon near their name.

The person you removed can’t access the previously shared email in the Shared Drafts folder anymore.

Note: If you share the email with only one teammate and then remove this person, your draft disappears from the Shared Drafts folder. You can find it in the Drafts folder on the sidebar instead.

To delete a draft:


  1. Open the Shared Drafts folder.
  2. Long tap the draft.
  3. Tap  at the bottom.
  1. Open a shared draft.
  2. Select  at the bottom right.
  3. Tap a collaborator’s avatar at the top right.
  4. Find the person you want to remove and tap the cross icon near their name.

The person you removed can’t access the previously shared email in the Shared Drafts folder anymore.

Note: If you share the email with only one teammate and then remove this person, your draft disappears from the Shared Drafts folder. You can find it in the Drafts folder on the sidebar instead.

To delete a draft:


  1. Open the Shared Drafts folder.
  2. Long tap the draft.
  3. Tap  at the bottom.
Was this article helpful?YesNo

Thanks for your feedback! 😊

Sorry about that! How can we make it better?

Thanks! Your message has been sent. Our support team will get in touch with you shortly!